In Honor of Seshat

In Honor of Seshat

by Amanda Artemisia Forrester

.

I sing now in honor of Seshat, All-seeing Goddess

The female scribe, inventor of writing, stylus in hand
She Who records

Everything

Since the beginning of the Universe, unto its end.

.

Lady of Builders, to Whose ears the pounding of hammers is as sweet music

The Engineer’s Goddess, Who inspired the architects of old Aiegyptos,

To build the great pyramids in the Valley of the Kings

Through which they achieved immortality

Goddess of architecture, of structures long standing

Of firm foundations and ancient stones

.

Numbering Goddess, Lady of Mathematics

Calculating Goddess, Lady of Measurements

Lady of education in all forms

Friend of Neith and my Goddess head-born Athene

Three Goddesses of scholars, of the marble halls of learning

Lady of the House of Books, Holy Librarian,

Record-keeper of the Gods, wife of wise Thoth

.

I offer this song of praise to Thy holy name,

Seshat Who wears the leopard-skin

As I embark on the scholar’s path

Be with me, Lady of Learning,

Open my mind to knowledge in all forms

Guide my pen as I scribe in Your name

Guide my mind in the pursuit of knowledge

Guide me, Goddess, in all my studies.