Our Gods Are Not Vending Machines

Excellent post. This entitled attitude is far too common in Paganism today.

amor et mortem

I was relieved to have recently been unfriended on Facebook by a woman who didn’t like my response to her questions in a post she’d tagged me in. This woman–let’s call her Rachel–announced that she was going to embark on a quest of “serious magic” to not merely land herself a lover, but a life partner “willing to put a ring on it.”

“So for the working I plan on doing,” Rachel wrote, “I’ve been doing some research on which goddess to call upon. I’ve narrowed my choices down to the following: Frigga, Freyja, Erzulie Freda, Astarte, and one Slavic goddess whose name I can’t pronounce. Anna, who should I go with? What do you think?”

View original post 1,458 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our Gods Are Not Vending Machines

  1. liberator9 says:

    I read this. it is a good article. It is a natural temptation to think we should ask the gods and goddesses for stuff, when we first try to connect with them. Learning not to do this is part of growing up though, that has not much to do with physical age.

Leave a Reply

