Short Prayers for the Sacred Days of the Lunar Month

these are short prayers for the sacred days of the lunar month. I wrote these years ago, when I first book, Songs of Praise, was published. Most of these are historically attested to as the Athenians considered the days sacred to the God named. I added the days for Asklepios and Dionysos, since They did get a day for Themselves in the Athenian calendar. Asklepios’ day falls right after His father Apollo’s, and Dionysos shares the full moon with Selene. The last three days are dedicated to khthonic (Underworld) Deities, with Hekate getting the last day. But I split up the 2nd to last and 3rd from last days between Haides and Persephone so they each get their own day. I also realize as I look at this that I when wrote these, I did not make one for Hermes. In the old Athenian calendar, His day was the fourth. It does make the day the most crowded, since it also belongs to Aphrodite, Eros, and Herakles. He was not at all a part of my life at the time, so I probaly decided not to write one. I’m going to have fix that soon. Anyway.

 

  1. Agathos Daimon (the second of the lunar month)

 

Hail to You, Agathos Daimon!

Snake-formed spirit Who dwells in the home

Kindly guardian of Alexandria

Who encircles the homes of those who honor Him

Protector of the food stores, Who watches over children

On this, Your sacred day, I offer You (milk/sweet honey)

May You watch over my home and family.

 

2. Athena and the Graces (the third of the lunar month)

 

Hail to You, Virgin Warrior!

Gray-eyed Goddess, Daughter of Zeus

Lover of the mind

Who delights in philosophers and learning

On this, Your sacred day, I offer You (olive oil/pure water/white wine/sweet honey)

May Your walk by my side always, my patroness.

 

Hail to You also, Kharites Three

Smiling attendants of the Kypressian

Gentle Goddesses of happiness

Weaving flowers in their hair

I honor You on this day also

May you bless my home with laughter and good spirits

 

3. Aphrodite and Eros (the fourth of the lunar month)

 

Hail to You, Kypressian!

Immortal spirit of lust, the laughter-loving

Who delights in lover’s whispers

And brings the flowers of spring with Her smile

 

Hail to You also, golden-winged Eros!

Primal paradox, always in existence

Yet boyish child of Aphrodite

Your arrows strike into the heart of the coldest individual

 

On this, Your sacred day, I offer You (red wine/sweet honey/fine chocolate/roses)

May there always be laughter and joy in my life.

 

4. Herakles (also the fourth of the lunar month)

 

Hail to You, Son of Zeus!

Mortal-born God of courageous

The greatest hero, ascended to Heaven

Who wears the lion-pelt, and carries the olivewood club

 

On this, Your sacred day, I offer You (olive wreaths/sweet honey)

May I always have the courage to face my fears.

 

5. Artemis (the sixth of the lunar month)

 

Hail to You, Virgin Huntress!

Lunar twin of solar Apollo

Dark-haired companion of nymphs

Who hunts the wilds with Her hounds

One-Unto-Herself, self-governing

 

On this, Your sacred day, I offer You (pure water/white wine/sweet honey)

Lend me Your strength, Your determination, Your purity.

 

6. Apollo (the seventh of the lunar month)

 

Hail to You, Far shooter!

Solar twin of lunar Artemis

Lyre-plucker, leader of the Muses

Golden-haired Son of Leto

On this, Your sacred day, I offer You (white wine/sweet     honey)

Lend me Your inspiration, Your rational mind, Your deep   thought.

 

 

7. Asklepios (the eighth of the lunar month)

 

Hail to You, Epidauran!

Snaky God of Kos, the doctor’s inspiration

Son of Apollo, born of fire

Mortal-mothered, Who knows the pain of mortal bodies

Merciful cheater of death

 

On this, Your sacred day, I offer You (white wine/sweet honey/healing herbs)

Heal me, Asklepios, so I may heal others.

 

8.Poseidon ( the ninth of the lunar month)

 

Hail to You, Briny One!

Wave-maker, Earth-shaker

Father of waters, Who carries the trident

Mighty Ruler of the Sea

Equal in power to Kingly Zeus

On this, Your sacred day, I offer You (saltwater/red            wine/seashells)

Cleanse me in Your waters.

 

9. Dionysos (the thirteenth of the lunar month)

 

Hail to You, Mysterious One!

Most powerful spirit of the vine

Two-natured, Twice-Mothered

Long-haired Bakkhic Lord, Leader of the Maenads

 

On this, Your sacred day, I offer You (your sacred wine/ivy leaves/pure water/sweet honey)

May I have the bravery to strip away the layers of ego, and to be my true self.

 

10. Selene (full moon)

 

Hail to You, Mother Moon!

Broad-faced sister of Helios

Full-bellied lover of Endymion

Who shines Her brightest tonight

And will soon disappear

Only to be reborn with the new month.

 

On this, Your sacred day, I offer You (pure water)

May my path be illuminated by Your light.

 

11. Haides (3rd to last day of the lunar month)

 

Hail to You, King of the Dead!

Ever-patient Aidoneous

Host of many, Ruler of ghosts

Dark-eyed husband of Persephone

Lord of the secret wealth hidden in the earth

 

On this, Your sacred day, I offer You (red wine/mint tea)

Grant me the wisdom to accept my mortality.

 

12. Persephone (2nd to last day of the lunar month)

 

Hail to You, Silent One!

Beautiful flower, with a steel core

Who walks the sunlit paths of the world above

And the ghostly roads below

Keeper of the keys of reincarnation

 

On this, Your sacred day, I offer You (pomegranate juice/mint tea/cypress leaves)

Teach me to walk in  both worlds, and to find my answers   within.

 

13. Hekate (last day of the lunar month)

 

Hail to You, Night Goddess!

Way-walker, key-carrier

Lady of hounds, clad in spidersilk

Triple-formed, haunting the crossroads

 

On this, Your sacred day, I offer You (redwine /wormwood/mint tea)

Grant me wisdom and strength to face the hard times in life

This entry was posted in Greek and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

