February GMC Wrap-up

So, I didn’t get to do quite as much as I had planned this month, and I didn’t have time for any elaborate rituals, which I would have liked to do. But when I did have a problem or something come up this month, I made a point to pray to the Agathos Daimon and/or Bes. I’ve paid cultus to the Agathos Daimon before, but it’s something that I fell away from in the last three years or so, and I’m glad to be taking it up again. I’d like to have a deeper relationship with my personal or household Daimon. I found an old necklace of mine that a friend gave me with a beautiful snake pendant, which I think I’m going to start wearing all the time as a way to honor the Daimon. As for Bes, I didn’t exactly get a strong reaction from Him, but I felt a sort of acknowledgement from His direction. I’m going to try to work Him into my household worship when the work on my cabin is finished (and I can rebuild my shrines again –seriously, it’s a mess right now). One thing I’m considering doing is to paint His picture on the inside of the front door to my cabin.

With Chang-O I did not do as much research on as I would have liked, but just now I realized that in a strange way She also fits the theme of home that seems to have run through this month’s grouping of Gods. But while the Agathos Daimon and Bes are household Gods and guardians of those who dwell within, one of the things Chang-O is known for is running away from Her home to live instead on the Moon. At least, that’s one of things that stood out to me, which I found interesting considering Who else came up last month.

If anyone has any last-minute thoughts to share on these fascinating Gods, I’d love to hear them. Otherwise, we’ll move on the Gods of the Month for March: Khonsu, Seshat, and Freyja. Go forth, and study!

This entry was posted in God of the Month Club and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

