Autumnal Equinox

Helios begins to descend

Sinking low on the horizon

And Nyx starts to reclaim Her place

Tonight They meet as equals

Summer and winter

Day and night

Perfect balance

Hail to Helios!

Receding King

Fiery Sun waning

Sinking towards winter’s chill

Hail to Nyx!

Ebony-skinned Goddess

Starry darkness approaching

Encroaching cold of winter winds blowing

Let fall come!
The leaves begin to turn
Let fall come!

Grains are ripe, harvest approaches

Let fall come!

The air is crisp, breath is foggy

Let fall come!

Life slows and becomes sleepy

Preparing for snowy hibernation

This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Autumnal Equinox

  1. Sorry for the formatting, I can’t get it right no matter how hard I try! Grrrrr.

  2. Ambrosius says:

    Indeed, let fall come. Yesterday it came in with tons of rain from all the humidity and moisture that had built up over the week (although the weather people forecasted rain for the whole week it didn’t pan out). I’d been waiting for it cause it had been uncomfortably humid (‘muggy’) for the last several days; what a chill once all the water came down! I’ve a small question if you don’t mind: as far as I know the word ‘vernal’ is usually applied to the Spring Equinox no? Blessings.

    P.S. I found your blog recently and I really like what you have here. The Hellenic Ritual page is just great and gave me several ideas (and I’m actually quite keen on your reading book when it’s done). Thanks.

    • Hmm, you’re right, the Vernal Equinox is in the spring. That’s what I get for posting late at night. Thank you for pointing that out, I’ll fix it.
      Thank you also for your kind comments, I hope you continue to enjoy the blog.

Leave a Reply

