Pagans and 9/11

I’ve been thinking about what to about 9/11 for over a week now, and I still don’t have any answers. 9/11 was a day that changed America forever. I was 14 when it happened, and I will never forget it. I walked into my 8th grade Social Studies class, and seeing my teacher (whose name I can’t remember) crying at her desk. She had a cousin who was on an airplane that day, and at that moment she didn’t know if her family member was dead or alive (as it turns out, her cousin was okay). It wasn’t long before my father came to pick me and my brother up from school. No one knew for sure what was happening and we wanted to be together. Over the next few weeks and months I was glued to the TV in a haze of fear and uncertainty. I came of age in a post-9/11 world. I don’t really remember what it was like before.

Friday night I held a public memorial ritual at the Temple. We honored the spirits of the victims of 9/11, Flight 93, and the fire fighters, police officers, EMTs, and other first responders. Although I have prayed for the victims on many of the anniversaries of 9/11, this was the first time that I have done it in ritual with other worshipers. It felt good to do it in community, to come together to heal this nation and those affected by this tragedy. I have no profound words to share regarding this awful date that is seared into the collective American consciousness. Only that it is important to remember and to come together to heal.

I have collected a few links regarding 9/11 in the Pagan blogosphere for those who are interested. It is by sharing our stories that we begin the process of healing.

I cried while reading Galina Krassakova’s deeply personal account of her experiences in New York on 9/11

Pagans Healing and Remembering 9/11 Facebook page

The Wild Hunt blog

T. Thorn Coyle’s Reconciliation and 9/11

When the Gods Fell Silent

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

