I’m still alive

Well its been a long time since I posted again. I’ve been going through a lot of personal stuff lately, mostly having to do with my mental illness. Also a little stray dog came into my life and for a while her care took up a lot of time, we had to force-feed her 4 times a day because she was in starvation mode and wouldn’t eat a thing. She is finally eating on her own though, so hopefully she will start to gain some weight back, she is deathly skinny. I’ve let myself become too slack in my devotions, stopped my daily prayers and my weekly ritual for Athena. I’m getting back on the horse, however. I hate when I let my illness get in the way of my spiritual duties, but that is what depression can do to you. It turns your life inside out and makes it hard to do anything. In other news, I’m taking a course at the college in Psych 101. the summer semester just started. It’s been 2 years since I took any college classes, so I am starting slow with just one class a semester to make sure I can handle it. I have a tendency to bite off more than I can chew, and being bipolar, I get overwhelmed easily.

Other than that, I’m getting ready for tonight’s ritual honoring the ancestors. We are calling on Alexander the Great as a Hero and the gateway to the ancestors, to open the way for them to visit us. Anubis will receive honors, as well. After the ritual we will have a drumming circle in honor of the ancestors.

I’m thinking for the next ritual I will do an Adoration of Athena. The Arrephoria is next month, and although part of the celebration is a Mystery with a capital M, we know that it honored Athena and the daughters of Kekrops, the first king of Athens. I need to reconnect with Athena, and I have not held a public ritual for Her at the Temple yet. I’m excited to think about it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m still alive

  1. You were definitely missed. Sorry to hear that you’ve been going through some rough times. Sounds like you’re doing exactly what’s necessary to get back into the swing of things. I’ll definitely be keeping you in my thoughts and prayers.

Leave a Reply

