Kriophoria Tomorrow

So, tomorrow is the Kriophoria, the “Ram-Bearing Festival” of Hermes as the guardian of flocks and fields. We may not be shepherds anymore, but I’ve interpreted the flocks to be a symbol of all our wealth, both literal and metaphorical, and hence to celebrate Hermes as the God of the economy and protector of our property. The Temple of Athena the Savior will be holding a public celebration. The ritual will include both an Orphic hymn and a hymn I wrote myself. After the ritual we will make a procession through the house carrying a small statue of a winged foot, my symbol of Hermes, to protect the land.

I’m looking forward to it. A friend who is devoted to Mercury will be attending (yes, some might argue that Hermes and Mercury are different Gods, but for myself and my friend we see enough similarities to conclude that the Roman Gods are the same as the Greek, interpreted through a different cultural framework). This will be the first time she has been able to attend ritual as well, since she is very busy with work and school all the time. Hopefully she will be able to attend more often in the summer.

If I was a meat-eater, this would be a good day to offer mutton or lamb, but as it is I’m a fish-and-eggs vegetarian so I am going with my standard food offerings of bread, salad greens, and shrimp stirfry or fish fillets. And wine, of course! But that brings up the fact that I have been considering offering meat to the Gods, even though I would not eat it myself. It is for Them, after all, not me. But I’d have to be careful about where I get it, that it was organic and ethically raised and slaughtered. I am a vegetarian because I don’t like the way animals are treated in factory farms, more than a problem with eating meat per se. It’s something I will have to meditate more on, and perhaps ask if it really matters to the Gods at all or if They would prefer meat. Hmm. I have a feeling Athena would not care, but I think Dionysos, for one, would probably prefer meat offerings.

This entry was posted in Greek, Rituals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

