Gardens, Demeter, and International Midwife Day

Today I went to Shelton’s and bought seedlings for the garden. Since its still possible that it will frost for a weeks, they are inside under a grow lamp. This week I will be getting the plots ready, though. Hopefully I will be able to plant before my summer class starts. I have a tree stump I plan to make into a simple altar to Demeter the Bountiful, on which I will offer the first fruits of the harvest. This will be my first year attempting to grow food. A few years ago, when I was still working, my boyfriend planted and maintained a garden. I was working lots of overtime so I didn’t do much of the work. But I really enjoyed having the fresh food available. You have not lived until you’ve eaten a salad where all the ingredients are fresh-picked from the garden! This year its mostly my project. Hopefully I don’t kill everything. I have a bit of a bad track record with plants, but I’m really going to try this year. All the plants I’ve killed were indoors and didn’t have a grow light, so hopefully things will be different.

Today is also International Midwife Day, and so a day to honor the midwife Deities – Eileithyia, Artemis, Hekate, Tawaret, and Bes. Take a moment to offer thanks to these Gods, whether or not you have children. After all, without these Gods none of us would be here!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

