Classes, books, and other projects

Well, I just finished the writing for the last of my classes on Alexandria and Greco-Egyptian Paganism. Sunday will be the last class. I have mixed feelings about it ending. It had to happen sooner or later, but I have really been enjoying teaching it. It is a lot of work and I will be glad for the break (which will only last a few weeks before the collage coarse I am taking over the summer starts).

I feel I could have covered the Jewish segment of Alexandria better, as it is I barely touched on it. If there is enough interest, I intend to offer the classes again when winter comes. It’ll be much easier on me the second time around, having the classes mostly already written I won’t be spending my entire week researching and writing. I’ll also have a chance to polish it up and make it better, there were a few parts I felt I skimped on because of time.

Of course, at some point, this class will likely become another book. I’m already working on one right now, Journey to Olympos: A Modern Spiritual Odyssey. This is my masterpiece work, which I’ve been working on off and on since I was sixteen years old. Its currently over four hundred pages. The writing itself is nearly finished. Editing it however is going to be quite a bitch, as it is a bit of a monster. Realistically speaking, I’m hoping to have it out by this time next year at the latest. I’ve really got to get Journey to Olympos out before I start tackling other book projects. I have a tendency to run off leaving previous projects half-finished (part of why its taken me so long to write this book, nearly 8 years at this point). My mind can be a churning mess of half-formed ideas at times.

Of course, I will continue to hold public rituals every two weeks. The next is Kriophoria, in honor of Hermes as the protector of flocks and fields. After that will be the Death of Alexander the Great, which has turned into a day to honor the ancestors for me. I am approaching Alexander as a kind gateway to the ancestors, or a chief among them. I will have the participants bring pictures of their Beloved Dead, or items that belonged to them, to place on the altar.

Not much else going on right now, I’ve mostly been getting ready for going back to school (part-time). Caio for now!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Classes, books, and other projects

  1. As you said, there’ll always be next time to cover more material. (And perhaps you could propose a follow-up class if you felt there was stuff you really needed to cover.)

    I’m excited to hear about the progress on your book and so can’t wait to read it!

Leave a Reply

