So many books, so little time!

I’ve recently received a bit of money, and so of course I bought a bunch of books! I never seem to have enough time to read! Most of my time is spent working on the class on Alexandria and Greco-Egyptian Paganism that I am teaching, but that should be over by the end of April/beginning of May and then I’ll have more time to just do my regular studies. If there is enough interest, I plan to offer the class again next winter, starting in November. Its good to have something to do over the winter, and I tend to be much busier in the summer. In summer I go to art fairs a lot to vend my clothes and artwork, among other things.

Whisper of Stone: Modern Canaanite Religion –  this one I received a few weeks ago. Its quite hefty, very good scholarship and very fascinating. I plan to write a review of this one when I finish it.

Shamanic Mysteries of Egypt: awakening the healing power of the heart – this was written by the same people who did the Anubis Oracle, which is the deck that I use in conjunction with the (Greek-based) Mythic Tarot.

Isis in the Ancient World

The Syncretisms of Antinous – I’ve been looking forward to reading this one. There is not a lot of stuff out there about Antinous in general, and as far as I know this is the only book about Him written for practicing Pagans.

The Egyptian Book of the Dead –  What’s really cool about this one is it has the whole thing in Egyptian hieroglyphs, with transliterations and translations underneath.

From Cave to Sky: A devotional Anthology in Honor of Zeus

I still have several other books I’m waiting for, including H. Jeremiah Lewis’ From the Satyr’s Mouth: Wit and Wisdom from an Opinionated Polytheist. I’m really looking forward to having the time to read books all the way through again!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So many books, so little time!

  1. Stephen Glaser says:

    Crap! You are just as bad as I am. LOL This time only one book arrived for me today. My paycheck was small. The book was From Cave to Sky.

    • I have only had a time to flip through that one so far, but it looks really good. Right now I am going through Queen of the Great Below because I am writing the class for Hekate and Ereshkigal.

Leave a Reply

