A poem – Lady of the Battlefield

Lady of the Battlefield
by Amanda Artemisia Forrester

I call now my Lady Athena,
Goddess of flashing eyes and flaming hair
The Fierce One, Lady of the Battlefield
Who loves the din of war and sack of cities
Mightiest Daughter of Zeus
Who, laughing, runs alongside Ares into the fray
The only One Who can defeat the God of War Himself
Strongest, the Best, Fearsome Lady
Drive my enemies before me
Let their hearts be filled with holy fear
So that they drop their weapons and abandon the battle
Protect me and mine
From the forces gathering against us.
My lady, My Goddess, my Love,
This I pray.

This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A poem – Lady of the Battlefield

  1. Hail Athene! I’ve really loved the poems you’ve been sharing recently. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

