Devotions to Athena

I feel like my connection to Athena is not being maintained enough. I’m working on writing a weekly ritual Adoration of Athena to re-commit myself to Her weekly. While I’m at it, I’m thinking about doing a monthly devotion to Anubis. I could do divination at that time, too.

 

In Your Name, Athena

 

How can I serve You Athena?

My Goddess fair, owl-eyed Daughter of Zeus

How can I serve You, Athena?

In the school, in the city, in the world

How may I set Your example?

 

In Your name, Athena

I volunteer my time to help others

I fight for justice for my brothers

As You are a Goddess of Community

So I seek to better mine.

 

In Your name, Athena

I strive to learn Your lessons

To learn from everyone I meet

As You are a Goddess of Wisdom,

So I seek to gain it.

 

In Your name, Athena

I stand up to be counted

I name myself “Pagan”, so I may educate

As You are a Goddess of Truth,

So I strive to be truthful.

 

In Your Name, Athena

I create beauty from within me

Spilling ink, my heart’s blood, upon the page

As You are a Goddess of all Arts,

So I endeavor to create.

 

In Your name, Athena,

I serve as Your Priestess

May I be marked as one of Yours

A child of Pallas Athene

For now and all time.

This entry was posted in Greek, poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Devotions to Athena

  1. Mary Cusack says:

    Being a daughter of a funeral director I always was attracted to Annubis becuase he is the god of embalming and funeral rites. but Athena is My Girl.

Leave a Reply

